When I Got My First Ever A in Uni 

An important reminder to self

It’s never due to my efforts alone

Not of any other past or future success too

Rather it’s many contributing factors He made possible

 

Happy

I finally know what’s my kind of study method

After years of trial and errors

After past education periods where I had little to no motivation to study 

Where I simply studied for the sake of it

To having and renewing multiple good intentions of what I do

Read and understand, make own notes, generate, review 

 

Never been the A student 

Or the bright student who seams through her studies effortlessly

Even though I’ve been told I look studious (haha) 

I require double triple the effort to do well

And Allah is fair 

To each his own strengths and weaknesses 

 

Support, motivation and reminders from my parents and close friends

“Nervous is good”

“Make plenty of duas”

“Believe in yourself”

 

Exams held within those four walls are, at the end of the day, just tests

They don’t always bring out the best in you

But they can be a fair yardstick to measure your effort 

So put in the effort first With plenty of duas to Allah whose Knowledge is above all of His creations, He who allows you to remember when you forget, He who inspires you

 And that is the very essence of tawakkul 

Whatever that you’ve learnt 

Place your full trust in Him 

One can only rely so much on one’s memory and intelligence

 But all that is not possible for retrieval or proper usage if not by His permission 

And make selawat upon the Prophet (peace be upon him) whom through which Allah will open doors for you 

 

May I always remember 

To be grateful for every single thing 

To always put in the effort and give my best no matter the circumstances 

To constantly be in the state of remembrance of Allah swt and His Beloved 

Leave a Reply

